This is how we make some beautiful soap!

About once or twice a month, I teach a soapmaking class at The Nova Studio. I really love being able to share what I know about soapmaking. And it gives me a great excuse to try out new techniques and ingredients: it’s research!

This past weekend I taught the first day of the 2-day Soap Making Boot Camp. In that class, I explain and demonstrate all kinds of ways that a soapmaker can make her/his soap more interesting visually. We cover things like swirling, layering and embedding. And I love teaching this class because I get to make 4 different batches of soap, with the students helping me choose colors and cutting out the soap shapes for embedding. Everybody has fun that way!

Here is a slideshow of some shots from the class, and of the soap that we ended up making. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “This is how we make some beautiful soap!

What's on your mind?

