Best Conference So Far!

Soapmaking can be a lonely endeavor. It’s not exactly the most popular of activities. So, unless you happen to have other soapmakers who live near by, you’re usually doing it by yourself.

Until you go to the Handcrafted Soap and Cosmetics Guild Annual Conference and mingle with 325 other soapmakers! OMG, it is just a thrill to be able to discuss your passion for HOURS and see no glazed-over expressions or eyes rolling. It’s fun, validating and exciting to learn about so many soapmakers from literally all over the world. (This year’s attendees included some from Australia, China and Pakistan!)

Last weekend I was in Raleigh, North Carolina for the 2013 Conference (the fourth one that I’ve attended), and it did not disappoint. Who knew how raucous soapmakers can get? And when we weren’t giggling over double-entendres (soap is an intimate kind of thing, after all), we were comparing experiences, sharing techniques and helping each other troubleshoot problems.

I did part of that sharing when I demonstrated how to make soaps that look just like cupcakes. It was quite a production, with an overhead camera projecting what I was doing, and a microphone, and everything. I felt like Julia Child. (“Always save the giblets.”)

So of course, I am already looking forward to the next conference in Tucson, Arizona . Until then, I am going to be hanging out in our little virtual soapy world over on Facebook. Here’s a list of the various places where I hang out to chat and mingle online with other soapmakers. Come on over and join us! It will help you feel not quite so lonely…

My Soapmaking Teacher FB page
Soaper’s Retreat
Super Soapers
Soap_Makers

13 thoughts on “Best Conference So Far!

  1. Those cupcakes are stunning! It’s amazing how fancy they all look, even though there’s no color in those samples…so sad we missed your talk! At least we can sit in on your upcoming class 😉

  2. Hi Ruth, I love making soap and find it really helpful to read and learn from the soaping adventures of others. How do I join the group’s you’ve listed in this article? The bottom three show closed group.

    • Andrea, just click on the “Join Group” link (upper right side) and the Admin will let you in. Let me know if you have any problems and I’ll be happy to help you join us!

  3. It was a pleasure meeting you at the Handcrafted Soapmakers Guild. You are filled with soaper’s knowledge and eager to share. Loved the cupcake demonstration and enjoyed chatting over lunch. Your soaps are beautiful.

    • Thanks, Lisa! I’m so glad we had time to chat at the conference. I hope that you will be able to make it to next year’s conference, too. That Tucson resort looks great!

  4. Pingback: Conference Coverage: Again, from the top! | HSCG blogHSCG blog

What's on your mind?